World Breastfeeding Week.

My experience with breastfeeding

A baby nursing at a mother’s breast is an undeniable affirmation of our rootedness in nature”

When I was pregnant, I knew immediately that I wanted to breastfeed my son for as long as I can. I did my research on the various health benefits that come with it. However,breastfeeding can be a daunting experience when you’re a new mom. Nobody really discusses the pain that comes with breastfeeding. I remember the first time Boikabo latched on my breast, the pain was excruciating. I remember I kept on asking the nurse if I’m doing it right or not.  She told me that the baby is latching well and that soon after the pain would go away. I never wanted feeding time to come cause it would remind me of the pain. After 3 days of being hospitalised, I was sent home. My nipples were pretty sore. I met such a wonderful physiotherapist who was also a mom and she gave me a laser treatment and tips of how to survive the first few days of breastfeeding. The pain subsided pretty quick and I started enjoying breastfeeding. It helped me so much with bonding with my little one. It started becoming like second nature and it has been so convenient for me.

Tips for newly breastfeeding moms:

1. The first few weeks are really tough but it does get better.

2. Be a little patient, your milk will not come in immediately.

3. Invest in a good nursuring bra and comfortable nursing clothes.

4. Get nipple cream. I used Lanolin, it worked wonders for my nipples. It is made from natural extracts so there’s no need to wipe it off before feeding.

5. Don’t forget to eat and always keep yourself hydrated. My husband used to make me “Jungle Juice”, it helps with hydration and milk production.

A70DF953-34AD-418B-802A-B1ADF29F406A
This is a picture of my little one and I, a few moments after he was born. It is advisable that a mother should breastfeed within an hour after the baby is born. 

2 thoughts on “World Breastfeeding Week.”

  1. I really enjoyed this read. Far from being ready to mother a little blessings but after this I think the broodiness and excitement had reached roof tops hahaha. Thanks TEE for and interesting and informative read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment